Quality or Quantity?

I realized today that it does me no good to get published, if my work is mediocre. I’ve lost interest in plenty of authors because I picked up a book, got bored, and never looked back. I don’t want that to happen to me!

So the question is, should I be sure and hit my goal of November 1, 2008 for mailing that first query? Or should I be a little more flexible, and make damn sure I have something that not only will be picked up, but will be remembered. I want people to say “Who the hell is this? When’s the next book coming out?”, not “well, it was ok, for a first novel. Maybe she’ll do better later.”

I read the first chapter of my manuscript out loud today. It sounded like something off a best-seller list. I think I will take a little more time to tweak and make it pretty, and hope it is worth it.

3 Responses to “Quality or Quantity?”

  1. As you WELL know, advancements in ability are small and are earned over a long period of time through intense effort and dedication to the craft.

    So, while I completely agree with your view… another six months is not going to make a heck of a lot of difference. Even a year from now, you’ll only be marginally better than you are now. Better, yes, but not by leaps and bounds.

    You’ve written a fine novel. And every writer has to have a first one and then get better from there. Don’t set your bar so high that you never have the nerve to submit anything.

  2. I vote with Ken on momentum. Keep it going, get it done, look November 1, 2008 in the eye and make it your plaything.

  3. See, November is a nice little date for me to aim for because anything I send out that day has the potential to turn into the best birthday present ever. Yes, Nov. 1 is my birthday, and I’ll be turning 21. No binging or partying for me, I’ll be planted elbow-deep in queries!

    Thanks for the encouragement guys.

Leave a Reply

