Editing!

First off, I’d like to thank the faithful few who keep commenting on these posts, your words mean a lot to me. I’ll try and make a regular update schedule and reply to comments better. My schedule in life slipped a bit over the last couple of months, due to things outside of my control, but I shall rectify that soon!

Secondly, I’ve been struggling with the edits. Not sure of the relative quality of my work, I’ve been a little hesitant with editing it. I’m my own worst critic, so on the one hand, I don’t think it’s worth looking at. On the other hand, I have this incurable optimism, probably brought on by too many people thinking it’s great, that says it’s going to be a best-seller. Hmmm…

And, I get stuck when I’m trying to edit from the beginning, in just reading. But then I stop noticing things, and I feel I’ve wasted time.

So, since I’m good at reading backwards, I will begin at the end of the document, and take it one sentence at a time. We’ll see how that works. It will be easier for me to track too.

5 Responses to “Editing!”

  1. The standard editing technique for proofing a document is back to front. It’s the best way to catch typos, problems with punctuation, and synonym spelling errors. I’ll be interested to get your view on editing the prose by this method. Let me know how it goes.

  2. I memorize long musical pieces back to front. By the time I get to the first measure, I have nailed that sucker.

  3. Jaym Gates Says:

    Hmmm, what sort of music? I’m intrigued. And yeah, if I did that, I’d play/sing the thing backwards, which would be interesting but not the desired result!

  4. Piano music. Bach, contemporary, what have you. For complicated pieces, I learn it measure by measure, starting with the last one.

  5. Jaym Gates Says:

    Extraordinary! I don’t play any more, back injuries prohibit more than about 15 minutes without serious pain, and my grandmother burned me out on it. But there’s something so cathartic about sitting at a piano, especially for classical music, which I love anyways.

    Music reaches things words don’t. That deserves a lot of respect.

Leave a Reply

