China Mieville

Oh lord. When an author has already landed on your “favorites” list after only a page… The prose here should be categorized as purple, but it works! “Sunfish move with idiotic grace”

The images painted in my mind with each line were spectacular, but gave me an intense jealousy complex.

I’m less than two chapters in, so I’ll talk about the plot later. For now, the writing itself is excellent. The characters seem to have walked straight out of a Victorian drawing-room and onto a prison ship. Mieville doesn’t pull any punches, and if you have a delicate stomach or sensibilities, please, feel free to ignore the book!

I will certainly be adding the rest of his works to my library!

Leave a Reply

