Summer Recipes!

Ok, it has been one HELL of a day. I’ve been so busy I met myself coming through the door at least three times, my truck is acting really strange again, and my stomach got tied in pretty little knots by a stupid driver on a rainy night. And I’m headed to the Farmer’s market in 8 hours. Which means I should be in bed!

But first, two delicious, easy, healthful and light summer salad recipes. Both are, to my knowledge, completely original ones I came up with today for work. Both can be made with only THREE ingredients!

Summer Sunset Salad

1 large red papaya, peeled, seeded and cubed
1 lb strawberries, chopped
2/3 cup dried red fruit (I used a blend that can be found at Trader Joe’s: Cherries, pomegranate, cranberries)

Mix, let sit for 10-20 minutes to let the juice soak into the dried fruit, serve. This is LOADED with nutrition benefits and antioxidants. Cherries could also be substituted for strawberries.

The Cooler

1 seedless English cucumber, chopped (don’t peel, that’s the healthy part!)
3 kiwis, peeled and chopped
1/4 cup crumbled Gorgonzola cheese

Mix and serve. No dressing is needed for this, the acidic kiwis and creamy cheese blend well. Originally, no one wanted to try this. Once they did, they were stunned. It is very cooling, very fresh, and a nice balance of sweet/tart/salty/bold/crunchy/creamy/soft.

Leave a Reply

