Parties? Why?

Time for some lightness today. Yes, I’m asking for enlightenment from my readers please.

What’s the point of a party? Maybe I’m just an old stick-in-the-mud, but I look at parties and can’t figure out why A.) they are popular and B.) why I would actually want to go to one.

I do go, mostly to see friends. But this is a popular thing, and I don’t understand it! No, sociability isn’t my strong point. Why do you ask?

In other news, I sent Hidden Fire back out to Weird Tales yesterday. I think this is a really good story, so I keep tossing it out there in the hopes it will stick.

My website is going to be changing up dramatically in the next couple of months. I have a great webmaster–Tim Cassidy (so good I adopted him as a brother)–working on setting up a custom site. There will be a lot more features and navigability there when he’s done. For the meantime, don’t forget that I’ve got a free flash-fiction up on the old website.

I also started a new short story yesterday, titled God’s Tears. It’s a bit Gothic, and a monster tale. It’s not my preferred ‘weird’ style, but hey, I think it might work. It’s at 2000 words. The goal is to finish it by the end of the week.

Speaking of stories… I started reading Rage of the Behemoth last night, from Rogue Blade Entertainment. Like I said before, it’s been a while since I read Sword and Sorcery. I must say, I’m impressed by Bill Ward’s story so far. It has none of the shallowness that S&S can fall into, but it has a rollicking good time with the blood. Yay.

I have two articles to write this week: An interview with Browncoats: Redemption director Michael Dougherty and a gaming interview that I’ve been dithering over for weeks. Also, I need to email the director of KNTR to talk about the charity. I’m excited about that one! It’s a great organization.
We’re going to be at next year’s Dragon*Con! Well, that’s the plan. Reserving rooms at the Marriott early, because traveling in every morning wasted too much time. Also, I can keep my laptop without killing my back. Also, that’s the premier of Browncoats: Redemption, so we’ll be doing Browncoats costumes, and hopefully, some kick-ass fantasy costumes too.

And finally, two new favorite bands for you to enjoy. Find them. Buy them. Bella Morte is the first, a nice gothic band that has beautiful vocals and music. Besides that, their vocalist is an author, and just damn adorable. Andy Deane was on the I Sing the Body Horrific panel, and got thrust into the role of surprise moderator, and did a great job. Great personality, speaks well, has a great voice… Yes, very nice.

(For those who don’t know me, I can never meet the members of a favorite band. If I don’t like them, or find them arrogant or prickish, I’ll stop listening. And I don’t like many people, so I can’t meet bands or I won’t have anything to listen to. Therefor, Bella Morte really is special!)

The other was actually introduced to me indirectly by a friend. Faith and the Muse is pretty well known in the Underground and Independent circles. Combining a nice beat, good vocals and the nice weird ambiance I like in music, they are a good choice to listen to while writing.

And, as far as I know, that is all for now.

4 Responses to “Parties? Why?”

  1. If you’re not a people person, you’re… probably a member of the family. Sorry about that, we’re just not joiners. Go to the parties where you want to see people, skip the rest of them, eventually the invites taper out and you can start yelling at the kids to get off your lawn. Bliss.

  2. Glad to hear you liked the story Jaym, never sure how people will take the central character as he’s, well, a bit of a blood-thirsty tyrannical psycho.

    They say write what you know.

    By the way, I talked to the people at the Marriott Marquis while at the con and they said rooms at the con rate are available on Oct 1 — and usually sell out the same day.

  3. Good to know about the hotel! I think we’re planning to make reservations that day, but that lends urgency.

    See, I like blood-thirsty tyrannical psychos. Far more fun that way.

Leave a Reply

