Reading List: November

I ran out of interesting new books about two months ago. Oddly, I still HAVE books I haven’t read, but lacked the interest to get into them. I still have a Piers Anthony, two Rawn, a couple of Eddings, and two Huff books to read. The Eddings books need the rest of the series before I’ll read them, the Anthony and Huff books just failed to grab my attention, and I’m reading Rawn’s first book in the car while waiting for mom’s bus to show up in the evenings.

I needed new books. After re-reading Neil Asher’s Gridlinked–which I still enjoy, even after two readings!–and a Pratchett book, bits and pieces of half-a-dozen other things and plenty of research books, the three-week-long wait for my order from Powell’s was nearly unbearable!

Yes, I squeed when the box arrived. Here’s why:

Scar Night, by Alan Campbell. I started here when my new books came, and holy hell, that might have been a mistake. I’m not sure even favorite authors can follow this!

I will temper the glow with a comment that I’ve got a soft-spot for Poe, and stay away if you don’t like very dark, rich description and prose. But I swear, you can see, hear and taste the surroundings. I dream of being able to write like this.

The Riddle of the Wren, by Charles de Lint. I have yet to read anything by de Lint that I don’t love. Strong hopes for this book too.

Misspelled, an anthology edited by Julie Czerneda. I try to get at least one anthology with every book order. It’s a great way to find new authors.

Night Watch, by Terry Pratchett. A great man, an amazing writer. Again, I’ve never read one of his books that I didn’t love. Most of them haven’t been read just once, either.

The House of Gaian, by Anne Bishop. A friend gave me the e-books of the Dark Jewels series a while back, and hooked me forever on an author I already liked. The first two books of this series were my introduction to Bishop, I’m hoping the third is as good.

Street Magic, by Caitlin Kittredge. One of the two new authors I’m sampling in this order. I attended a couple of panels that Kittredge was on at Dragon*Con, and liked what I heard.

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, by Susanna Clarke. If I had a penny for every time I’ve been told I should read this book…

I’ll write reviews on all of them, hopefully. In the meantime… READING!

One Response to “Reading List: November”

  1. I just finished Scar Night. Oh its good, very very good. *wicked grin*

    I have my first Pratchet next to pick up and read, probably later this week. Not sure what one.

    Yea, B. gets on to me for reading at night. I just cannot go to sleep without reading a bit first.

Leave a Reply

