Fresh off the Press!

In November, 2009, Mike Griffiths sent me a Twitter reply. Was I participating in the Aether Age anthology? A quick Google search, and I hedged my bets. It looked awesome, but I knew I was going to be swamped, and shared world isn’t my strong point.

I forget how many people ended up nagging me. Plenty, that’s for sure, and I started it in January. Ya’ll know how January went for me. One computer crash after another. On top of that, I couldn’t find a story I liked. I told the editors that I probably wouldn’t make it.

Finally, I got pissed. On the old, crappy laptop, I sat down and wrote a story. I’d been trying to keep my pervasive love of horror out of it, and failed. It wasn’t a terribly long piece, and I wasn’t sure if I was happy with it or not.

I sent it to a couple of people, got great feedback, and made it before the deadline.

So yes, I’ve been on pins and needles ever since.

The reason for this ramble?

The Aether Age anthology will contain my story First Step, Last Breath along with a host of talented writers. Publication is slated for some time in August.

This is my first paying fiction publication.

The moral of the story? If a door opens, and then tries to reach out and grab you, while multiple people push you towards said door, and when you complain that you can’t possible REACH the door, the door moves closer…then you should probably go through the door.

Have I ever mentioned that I’m a bit dense. Yeah. I am.

7 Responses to “Fresh off the Press!”

  1. Hurray! Congrats, I know you deserve it!

  2. Huge congratulations and kudos. I wasn’t brave enough to tackle a shared world story.

  3. *Squeals!*

    Congrats hon!

  4. Wow! Congratulations!

  5. Congratulations, mate!

    Can’t wait to read it. Your first paying publication so happens to include print, ebook, as well as podcast. That’s big!

    • Jaym Gates Says:

      Wheee, yes. This works for me! So much more fun than nonfiction!

      I’m looking forward to sharing a TOC with you!

  6. Congrats! You don’t know me, but we’ll be ToC buddies in the anthology.

    And, interestingly, my AeA stories followed a similar process like yours. 😉

Leave a Reply

